KXIP vs KKR Live Score

Nandyal Bypoll Election Results after 13 Rounds TDP in Majority.The result of Nandyal Assembly soon.

Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has won the Nandyal by-polls, by a thumping margin of 27,466 votes.

Although a tough contest was expected between ruling TDP and Opposition YSRCP, the latter's choice of candidate may have spoiled its chances.

Silpa Mohan Reddy, a former Andhra Minister and Nandyal MLA for two times is a long-time rival of Bhuma Reddy in the TDP.

Kurnool district YSRCP leaders were not too happy with Chandra Mohan Reddy getting the ticket and did not fully support him, a YSRCP leader said.

The huge victory of the TDP also proved most pre-election calculations and surveys wrong.

Asserting that development was the lone agenda of his party, Naidu said that TDP's victory is because of credibility and people's trust in them. "My health did not permit me to campaign as I would have liked to and it could be one of the reasons for my defeat".

The bypoll was necessitated after the death of Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who had quit the YSR Congress party to join the ruling TDP past year.

When the final verdict was out, celebrations in the TDP camp hit the roof, In Nandyal and Allagadda, where the Bhuma family has much influence, their followers and TDP cadres came out on the streets to celebrate. It was his death on March 12 which necessitated the bypoll.

Akhila Priya, Nagi Reddy's daughter and Andhra tourism minister, said there was nothing unexpected about the electoral results. However, he lost to Brahmananda Reddy, a 32-year-old political novice.